Skip to content
Whether visiting a popular tourist destination like Nashville or traveling for business, driving on unfamiliar roads can increase the risk of a car accident. Of course, nothing ruins a road trip like getting into an accident, especially when you’re far from home. Among other things, it may leave you wondering, “What happens if I get in an accident out of state?”
When the accident happens in another state, variations in laws and insurance requirements can further complicate an already stressful situation. If you’ve been in an out of state car accident, NST Law can help you understand your rights and navigate the legal claims process. Do not wait to call (615) 777-7777 or reach out online to schedule a free consultation.
Yes, your standard car insurance policy should cover you in all 50 states, even if you’re driving in a state with different insurance requirements. However, exceptions may apply. A few states, such as Massachusetts, allow drivers to purchase cheaper car insurance policies that only cover accidents within the driver’s home state. Your policy should explicitly state whether this limitation is included.
At NST Law, we have secured settlements and verdicts for car accident injury victims in Tennessee, Arkansas, Mississippi, Missouri, and beyond. With over thirty years of experience representing clients in multiple jurisdictions, we have the expertise needed to navigate the complex maze of laws and insurance policies that may apply in an out of state accident case.
We can help you understand your rights, gather evidence, negotiate with insurance companies, and pursue legal action if necessary. Our team of experienced car accident lawyers will fight to get you the maximum compensation available for your damages.
Each state has its own car insurance requirements, and your policy should reflect the minimum coverage required by the state in which it is issued. However, if your home state’s minimum liability coverage is lower than that of the state where the accident occurred, things can get complicated.
For example, if your policy includes a “broadening clause,” it will automatically cover you up to the minimum requirements in the state where the accident occurred. Most auto insurance policies include this kind of clause. Importantly, if your insurance coverage is higher than the minimum required in the state where the accident occurred, you will still be entitled to full coverage.
To illustrate, suppose you have a Tennessee policy that provides $25,000 in per-person bodily injury liability coverage, but you get into an accident in a state that enforces a $30,000 minimum. In that case, your policy will automatically increase to meet the $30,000 requirement. By contrast, if you were injured in a state where the minimum is $30,000, but you have $40,000 in coverage, you will be entitled to the full $40,000.
The majority of states in the U.S. operate under a fault-based insurance system, including Tennessee. This means at-fault drivers are responsible for compensating other parties involved in accidents. However, there are currently 12 states that operate under a no-fault insurance system:
If the accident occurred in a no-fault insurance state, liability coverage may not apply. In these states, each driver’s no-fault insurance will cover their medical expenses and related damages, regardless of who was at fault for the accident. This no-fault coverage is also known as personal injury protection insurance (PIP).
Fortunately, you do not need to purchase PIP coverage if you’re driving from a fault state to a no-fault state. If you get into an accident in a no-fault state but do not have PIP insurance because your home state doesn’t require it, your policy’s broadening clause may extend your coverage.
Your actions immediately after an out of state car accident can affect your ability to recover full compensation. Here are some critical steps to take after a car accident out of state:
Each state sets a deadline known as the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim after an accident. If you get into an out of state accident, your home state’s statute of limitations will not apply. Instead, the statute of limitations in the state where the accident occurred will govern.
For example, suppose you get into an accident while driving in Georgia but are insured in Tennessee. Georgia has a two-year statute of limitations for personal injury claims, but Tennessee’s is one year. Because the accident occurred in Georgia, you will have two years to file a personal injury claim.
If you get into an out of state car accident, you can seek financial compensation for your injuries and losses by contacting a personal injury lawyer. They can help you pursue compensation through an insurance claim or by filing a personal injury lawsuit if insurance does not cover all of your losses. You may be compensated for things like:
The first party you will likely interact with after an accident is an insurance company. It’s important to note that insurance companies are profit-driven businesses and do not have your best interests in mind. Having a car accident lawyer on your side can help you avoid doing or saying anything that might negatively impact your settlement.
Our attorneys have been advocating for the injured since 1990. Our client reviews attest to our success in helping injury victims receive full and fair compensation for their injuries and losses. Below are some of our recent testimonials:
With a legal team of over 34 lawyers and 135 support staff, NST Law is ready to help you handle the legal aftermath of your out of state car accident. We are passionate about helping our clients and serving our community. If you or a loved one has been injured in an out of state car crash, call (615) 777-7777 or reach out online to schedule a free consultation.