When you are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, you may be unable to recover the full extent of your damages from the at-fault driver. Our experienced car accident attorneys can help you uncover other sources of compensation for your Little Rock uninsured/underinsured accident claim.
Arkansas had the eighth highest level of uninsured drivers in the United States as of 2019, according to the Insurance Information Institute. Approximately 19.3 percent of Arkansas drivers were uninsured in 2019, compared to 12.6 percent nationwide.
This places Arkansas drivers at a heightened risk of being involved in an accident with an uninsured driver. When an at-fault driver lacks the insurance necessary to cover your damages, the car accident attorneys in Little Rock at NST Law can identify additional options to recover your well-deserved compensation.
Table Of Contents
- Why should I choose NST Law for my Little Rock uninsured motorist accident claim?
- What is the difference between an uninsured and an underinsured motorist?
- Arkansas Insurance Requirements and Options
- What are my options if I am hit by an uninsured or underinsured motorist in Little Rock?
- How can a personal injury lawyer help me with my uninsured or underinsured motorist accident claim?
- What types of damages are typically available for injuries sustained in a car accident?
- Can I afford an uninsured car accident attorney?
- When should I contact a Little Rock personal injury attorney?
- NST Law is Ready to Champion Your Cause
Why should I choose NST Law for my Little Rock uninsured motorist accident claim?
The experienced Little Rock personal injury attorneys at NST Law are champions for the injured who provide compassionate, personalized service to every client with the goal of recovering the maximum compensation allowed by law.
Our commitment to client service has helped us achieve remarkable results such as:
- $178,463.16 jury verdict for a pedestrian seriously injured by an uninsured driver
- $500,000 for a severely injured passenger in a vehicle driven by a drunk driver
- $639,000 for a pedestrian struck by a negligent vehicle in a Kroger parking lot
We have a five-star Google rating and regularly receive feedback such as the following from our clients:
“I was hit, and the driver drove off. NST worked in my best interest. My assigned team was nice, checked on me daily, and assisted me with getting the compensation that I desired.”
“NST took my case when other law firms wouldn’t, and they got the job done! I will always use NST as my law firm!!”
What is the difference between an uninsured and an underinsured motorist?
An uninsured motorist is a driver who has not purchased liability insurance in violation of state law.
An underinsured motorist is a driver who carries liability insurance but in an amount that is insufficient to cover your damages. A driver may be underinsured without violating any laws.
Arkansas Insurance Requirements and Options
Little Rock drivers have access to a wide variety of automobile insurance options that can protect other drivers as well as themselves in the event of an accident.
Arkansas law requires all drivers to carry the following liability insurance coverages at a minimum:
- Bodily injury per person: $25,000
- Total bodily injury coverage per accident: $50,000
- Property damage: $25,000
If you have been hit by a driver who only carries the minimum coverage, you may be unable to recover all of your damages through the insurance company.
Little Rock drivers have access to multiple coverages that can cover your damages in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
Uninsured Motorist and Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Arkansas insurers are required to offer uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to every driver who purchases liability coverage. You can purchase as much coverage as you wish.
Insurers must offer the following types of coverage:
- Bodily injury
- Property damage
Drivers may opt out, purchase both coverages, or purchase bodily injury coverage only. You cannot purchase property damage coverage unless you also purchase bodily injury coverage.
Personal Injury Protection
Although Arkansas is not a no-fault state, insurers must offer Arkansas drivers no-fault coverage, which is known as personal injury protection (PIP). This coverage provides medical payments, reimbursement for lost wages, and death benefits for your family in the event of your passing.
Personal injury protection also covers the following individuals:
- Pedestrians and bicyclists struck by your vehicle
- Family members in your household while riding in your vehicle
- Passengers in your vehicle outside your family who do not carry this coverage
Collision and Comprehensive Insurance
Collision insurance covers vehicle damage caused by a collision, regardless of fault. Comprehensive insurance covers damage caused by other events, such as hail, theft, or animals.
What are my options if I am hit by an uninsured or underinsured motorist in Little Rock?
Our car accident lawyers are dedicated to pursuing every pathway to compensation available, starting with filing claims with the appropriate insurance companies.
If your claims are denied or the insurance policies won’t cover your losses, we will take your case to court.
Filing an Insurance Claim with Your Own Carrier
If you have uninsured, underinsured, or personal injury protection coverage, filing a claim with your own insurance provider is the most straightforward option for collecting money. You can collect benefits up to your coverage limits.
Will filing an uninsured or underinsured motorist claim raise my insurance premium?
According to The Zebra, the national average increase in insurance rates after filing an uninsured motorist claim is $98 per year. This is typically temporary, and it varies between insurers. Some companies may not increase rates.
Can I file a claim with my uninsured motorist coverage if I am the victim of a hit-and-run crash?
If you are the victim of a hit-and-run accident in which the driver is not discovered, you can file a claim for uninsured motorist benefits with your insurance provider.
The Little Rock Police Department will investigate the accident and attempt to identify the driver. The LRPD is often successful in identifying hit-and-run drivers.
On January 22, 2022, Little Rock police arrested a woman who caused the death of a construction worker in a hit-and-run accident.
On August 12, 2022, a pedestrian was killed by a hit-and-run driver, and police quickly identified a vehicle of interest that had sustained damage consistent with the accident.
The hit-and-run attorneys at NST Law also provide clients with detailed investigations into hit-and-run accidents to uncover the driver’s identity.
Filing an Insurance Claim with Other Insurance Companies
You can also file a claim with an underinsured motorist’s insurance company, but their policy may not adequately cover your expenses.
It is possible to sue a driver who fails to carry sufficient insurance coverage, but this is not worthwhile if the driver lacks assets that can be seized, which is often the case with uninsured and underinsured drivers.
The driver may not be the only party liable for your injuries. While investigating your accident, our attorneys will look for causes that are attributable to third parties who may be insured.
The Owner of the Vehicle
Any Arkansas vehicle owner is vicariously liable for the negligent actions of a driver using their vehicle. This includes individuals and businesses, such as trucking companies.
If the driver and owner are insured, you may be able to file a claim with both insurance carriers, using the driver’s insurance as secondary coverage. If only one party is insured, the available insurance policy may be used, whether it belongs to the driver or the vehicle owner.
If both insurance carriers deny your claim, you can sue them for damages.
When a driver is carrying out responsibilities on behalf of an employer, the employer may be vicariously liable for the driver’s negligence, in which case you can file a claim with the employer’s insurance.
If a road condition contributes to an accident, you may be able to collect money from the responsible government entity’s liability insurance.
How can a personal injury lawyer help me with my uninsured or underinsured motorist accident claim?
Our attorneys will fight vigorously to ensure you recover compensation through every avenue available, including your own insurance provider.
Your insurance company may resist paying your claim and resort to such tactics as the following:
- Blame you for the accident
- Deny liability
- Pressure you to accept an early lowball settlement
Our attorneys will work to get your insurance claim approved, whether by your insurance company or another liable party’s insurance carrier.
If your claims are denied, we will file a civil lawsuit and, if necessary, take the responsible party to trial.
Whether the negligent party is the uninsured/underinsured driver, the vehicle owner, an insurance company, employer, government entity, or manufacturer or distributor of a defective vehicle component, the experienced personal injury attorneys at NST Law will fight relentlessly to hold them accountable.
What types of damages are typically available for injuries sustained in a car accident?
When you have been injured in a car accident because of someone else’s negligence, you are entitled to pursue economic, non-economic, and punitive damages.
Your verifiable monetary losses are known as economic damages. These include the following:
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Property damage
If your injuries result in disability, lost wages may include the sum of all future wages you can no longer earn.
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of society
- Mental anguish
Punitive damages are awarded in rare cases in which the defendant’s conduct was especially egregious. These damages are meant to punish the defendant and deter others from similar conduct. Punitive damages are generally not covered by insurance.
Can I afford an uninsured car accident attorney?
Our law firm offers a contingency fee agreement, which means we do not charge fees until after we successfully recover compensation for you. This arrangement ensures accident victims enjoy the same caliber of representation insurance companies can afford. Lack of financial means should not stand in the way of justice.
When should I contact a Little Rock car accident lawyer?
Contact an attorney as soon as possible after your accident. The Arkansas statute of limitations for most personal injury cases is three years, but this can vary. Your attorneys will need access to your case before evidence degrades or eyewitnesses forget important details.
NST Law is Ready to Champion Your Cause
If you have been in an uninsured or underinsured accident and need help with your claim, call our Little Rock uninsured accident lawyers at (501) 891-5550 or contact us via our easy online form. Our champions for the injured will fight for your rights and work hard to get you the compensation you need and deserve.
Contact us for a free consultation now so that we can review your case and decide how we can best help you.
Little Rock Construction Accidents
Little Rock Medical Malpractice
Little Rock Motorcycle Accidents
Little Rock Nursing Home Abuse
Little Rock Pedestrian Accidents
Little Rock Social Security Disability
4 Shackleford Plaza Suite 211
Little Rock, AR 72211
425 W Capitol Ave, Ste. 780
Little Rock, AR 72201