Little Rock Car Accident FAQs
Dedicated Accident Lawyers Serving Little Rock and Surrounding Areas
Car accidents can happen anywhere, at any time. As the capital city of Arkansas, Little Rock sees a great deal of motor vehicle traffic each day. The sheer amount of traffic alone makes the likelihood of being involved in an auto accident real to all drivers and pedestrians. At Nahon, Saharovich & Trotz, our law firm has over 30 years of experience helping victims of car accidents get fairly compensated for their injuries. If you have been involved in an auto accident in Little Rock, you likely have many questions and here are some common questions and answers. If you want to speak with a Little Rock car accident attorney now, call us toll-free at 800-529-4004.
Q: What is my car accident worth in Little Rock?
A: In Arkansas, what your car accident case is worth depends on many factors. You could be entitled to both economic and non-economic damages if you successfully prove liability against the at-fault driver. The actual amount of a settlement or jury verdict varies on a case by case basis. In Arkansas, economic damages consist of medical bills, lost wages, lost earning capacity and other losses to which a specific dollar amount may be placed. Non-economic damages on the other hand are not as easy to quantify, and they consist of losses such as pain and suffering, mental anguish, and loss of enjoyment of life. Our attorneys are experienced in working to maximize both economic and non-economic damages for Little Rock crash victims.
Q: How soon must I bring my claim in Arkansas?
A: In the State of Arkansas, there is a statute of limitations for auto accident claims, including bodily injury claims and property damage claims. The statute of limitations for a car accident case in Arkansas is three years from the date of the accident. The clock starts ticking immediately, and the early phases of a case are critical in terms of investigating, speaking with witnesses, and identifying evidence such as video footage. A knowledgeable attorney who handles car accident cases in Little Rock will ensure that your claim is not time-barred by the applicable statute of limitations or any other legal deadlines.
Q: What do I have to prove to win a car accident claim?
A: To win a car accident claim, you likely need to prove the at-fault driver’s negligence. Negligence is a legal term that has a different definition in each state. In Arkansas, negligence is often defined as conduct that falls below a standard established for the protection of others against unreasonable risk of harm. In the context of automobile accidents, driving in an unsafe manner is often enough to establish negligence. In Little Rock and Pulaski County, common examples of negligent behavior include driving while drunk, texting while driving, speeding, failing to yield, and distracted driving.
Q: In Arkansas, can I be compensated even if the accident was partially my fault?
A: After an accident, the other driver may try to blame you, and his or her insurance company could too in order to limit what they have to pay you. If you are partially to blame for the auto accident, you may still be entitled to compensation. Arkansas follows the law of modified comparative fault, which allows you to be compensated for your damages as long as you are less than 50 percent at fault. Any award will be reduced by the amount of fault that is placed upon you. However, if you are found to be 50 percent or more at fault for the accident you will not be compensated for your damages. The strict burden of proof highlights the importance of having skilled legal representation on your side.
Q: Will I have to go to court because of this car accident?
A: You may have to go to court if your case does not settle. Most personal injury cases are settled outside of court, but there are instances in which litigation is necessary. If an insurance adjuster fails to make a fair settlement offer on your case, our firm is equipped with the necessary resources to file a lawsuit and proceed to trial before a judge or jury. We also have the resources to consult with qualified expert witnesses to assist in proving liability and damages, including accident reconstruction experts, medical experts, and economists.
Q: What if I cannot afford an attorney after an auto accident?
A: Don’t be ashamed if you cannot afford an attorney at the time of your auto accident. Car wrecks in Little Rock can upend the victim’s life, causing that person to incur costly medical bills and miss work. Nahon, Saharovich & Trotz handles car accident cases in Little Rock on a contingency fee basis. This means that you do not have to pay anything upfront for our services, and we only receive an attorney fee if we are successful in obtaining an award for you. Whether you believe that your case will go to trial or not, it is important to have an experienced car accident attorney in the Little Rock area guiding you through the process, and we are able to do that for clients at no upfront cost.
Speak to an Experienced Arkansas Attorney About Your Car Wreck Today
No matter your circumstances, the car accident lawyers of Nahon, Saharovich & Trotz can advise you on your rights. Our team of over 30 injury lawyers and more than 100 support staff members is committed to handling cases from start to finish. We represent injured people throughout the Little Rock area, including North Little Rock, Conway, Benton, Bryant, Jacksonville, Maumelle, Pine Bluff, and communities nearby. Contact our car and truck accident attorneys toll-free by calling 800-529-4004 or by using our online form to set up a free consultation. After speaking with our team, you will see why NST is the way to go.
Little Rock Construction Accidents
Little Rock Medical Malpractice
Little Rock Motorcycle Accidents
Little Rock Nursing Home Abuse
Little Rock Pedestrian Accidents
Little Rock Social Security Disability
4 Shackleford Plaza Suite 211
Little Rock, AR 72211
425 W Capitol Ave, Ste. 780
Little Rock, AR 72201