Jackson, TN Hit and Run Accidents
Tennessee drivers are required to carry liability insurance to cover property damage or bodily injuries stemming from auto accidents they cause. Unfortunately, due to the cost of insurance or for a number of other reasons, many drivers do not carry auto insurance as required by Tennessee law. As a result, many drivers flee the scene after a hit and run accident in an effort to evade any criminal penalties or legal liability for not having the required insurance to cover the accident. Hit and run drivers may also flee because they have been drinking, have an outstanding criminal warrant, or just do not want to be caught. If you were hurt in a hit and run accident in Tennessee, the Jackson, TN car accident lawyers at Nahon, Saharovich & Trotz may be able to help you recover for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other damages to which you may be entitled.
Seeking Compensation After a Hit and Run Accident
After a hit and run accident, you should contact the police so they can investigate the incident and try to locate the other vehicle involved. You and eyewitnesses may be able to provide enough details for the at-fault vehicle to be identified. If the defendant had car insurance, then you can file a bodily injury claim with that person’s insurance carrier to recover your damages caused by his or her negligence. Pursuant to Tennessee law, vehicle owners are required to carry liability insurance coverage of no less than $25,000 per person and $50,000 per occurrence.
If the police are unable to locate the defendant or if the defendant was uninsured at the time of the incident, then you may be able to pursue an uninsured motorist bodily injury claim with your own insurance company. Though it is not required, most Tennessee policies include uninsured motorist coverage and many drivers elect to carry this additional coverage as an added protection. Under Tennessee law, a car insurance company is required to include uninsured motorist coverage in every policy unless the policy owner specifically chooses to reject the coverage in writing. Sometimes coverage issues can arise, making it valuable to have an experienced car accident lawyer fighting for your rights.
If you have been injured in a hit and run accident in the Jackson area, you have one year from the date of the accident to either settle your bodily injury claim or properly file a lawsuit. If you do not timely pursue your claim, your right to obtain damages may be lost forever. This statute of limitations applies to both liability claims filed with the at-fault party’s insurance carrier and uninsured motorist claims filed with your own insurance company.
Keep in mind that a driver who tries to evade financial responsibility for the accident by leaving the scene may also try to deny fault if he is caught. As the person asserting a personal injury claim, you will bear the legal burden of proof to show that the defendant’s negligence caused the accident and your injuries. This means you must show that the defendant owed you a duty to drive safely but breached that duty by speeding , driving drunk, failing to maintain a safe lookout, or violation of another Tennessee traffic law.
Speak with Our Jackson Lawyers Today About Your Car Wreck Case
If you have been hurt in a crash caused by a hit and run driver, steps can be taken to investigate the wreck and locate that person. At Nahon, Saharovich & Trotz, we may be able to assist with locating the defendant or filing an uninsured motorist claim on your behalf. Call our office today to discuss your legal options with one of our Jackson attorneys. Call our office toll-free at 800-LAW-4004 or complete our online form to set up a free consultation with a car wreck attorney.
TYPES OF ACCIDENTS
Our client was walking in a Tennessee gas station parking lot when he was struck by a commercial concrete truck. He broke both of his legs and underwent extensive medical treatment.