Cape Girardeau Car Accident FAQs
Dedicated Injury Lawyers Helping Accident Victims in Cape Girardeau
At Nahon, Saharovich & Trotz, our personal injury lawyers are dedicated to helping accident victims seek the compensation they deserve for their injuries and losses. Our firm has more than 30 years of experience representing auto accident victims and other personal injury claimants across Missouri, Tennessee, Mississippi, Arkansas, Kentucky, and other states, recovering more than $1.5 billion in monetary damages for our clients and their families during that time. At Nahon, Saharovich & Trotz, we employ more than 30 attorneys and 100 staff members to assist car accident victims, and we are available 24 hours a day and seven days a week to answer your calls. Our Cape Girardeau car accident attorneys would be happy to review the facts of your accident case and evaluate any potential claims you may be able to file with the insurance company.
Q: What should I do after an auto accident in Cape Girardeau?
A: Your first concern following a car accident should be your safety and well-being. If you or another person is injured, call an ambulance. If necessary, you should move your vehicle out of the way of traffic to avoid any additional collisions and injuries. You can call the Cape Girardeau Police Department, which can be reached by dialing 573-335-6621, to the scene so a crash report can be made. Get the other driver’s contact and insurance information. If you are able, take photos of the damage to your vehicle and any other vehicles involved. Also, take photos of the accident scene to depict the road and weather conditions. Our car accident lawyers can also assist with gathering evidence to prove your claim.
Q: How do I know if I have a personal injury case?
A: If you have been involved in an accident caused by another person’s negligence and you suffered injuries as a result, you can assert a personal injury claim. If the at-fault, or negligent, party had liability insurance as required under the law in Missouri and other states, then you should be able to seek compensation for your bodily injuries and property damage by filing a claim with the at-fault party’s liability insurance carrier. If you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, you may be able to file a claim with that company too. Our car wreck lawyers can assist you in locating liability insurance coverage and filing your insurance claims for property damage and bodily injury.
Q: Who should I file a claim against after an auto accident?
A: Typically, you will pursue a claim against the at-fault driver’s liability insurance carrier for your injuries and any losses you incur as a result of the collision. If the at-fault driver was not the owner of the vehicle he was driving, then you may be able to pursue a claim against the owner’s liability insurance carrier. If there is no liability insurance coverage, then you may be able to pursue a claim with your own auto insurance carrier if you have uninsured motorist coverage on your policy.
Q: How long do I have to file a lawsuit for a Missouri auto accident?
A: If you have been involved in a car crash in Missouri, you have five years to either settle your bodily injury claim with the insurance company or to file a lawsuit in the appropriate court. The clock for the five-year statute of limitations for car accident cases in Missouri begins ticking on the date of the accident. If you do not resolve your case or file a lawsuit within that time, you will forfeit your right to recover for your injuries. A competent car accident attorney in the Cape Girardeau area will work diligently to resolve your claim as quickly and efficiently as possible and make sure that you meet all important legal deadlines for your case.
Q: What is a car accident case worth in Cape Girardeau?
A: If you’ve been involved in a car wreck in or near Cape Girardeau, the value of your case will depend on many factors. Important factors are the extent of your injuries, amount of your medical bills, and the amount of insurance coverage available. Generally speaking, the more severe your injuries are, the greater your case value may be. Missouri law requires that drivers maintain liability insurance coverage of at least $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for total bodily injury per accident. Sometimes, the conduct of the defendant driver can increase the value of the case. For example, juries in Cape Girardeau County tend to frown on drunk driving, and a plaintiff can obtain punitive damages.
Q: When after a car accident should I hire an attorney?
A: The decision whether to hire an attorney is ultimately your choice, but studies have consistently shown that an attorney can help you get more money for your claim. The insurance company may try to deny your claim whenever possible based on liability or coverage issues. If the insurance company accepts liability for the auto accident, they have an incentive to settle your case as quickly and as cheaply as possible. Each day, our car wreck attorneys help Cape Girardeau accident victims pursue fair compensation. This includes taking steps to properly investigate the accident, such as contacting witnesses, and develop the case, which could mean consulting with experts.
Obtain a Free Consultation with One of Our Car Accident Lawyers
In Cape Girardeau, many car accident victims are overwhelmed by their injuries and the damage to their vehicles and are unsure what to do or where to turn following a car crash. While each case is different, we invite you to contact our office toll-free at 800-529-4004 to discuss any other questions you may have with one of our competent car crash lawyers. You can also complete our online form in order to speak with an attorney immediately. The Cape Girardeau lawyers at Nahon, Saharovich & Trotz are available seven days a week to answer any questions you have regarding your case or representation by our law firm, and we also handle accident cases involving 18-wheelers. Let us show you why NST is the way to go.
1440 Kurre Lane
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701