Cape Girardeau Workers' Compensation
Work injuries occur each day across all states, in almost every occupation. Cape Girardeau is no exception, as 1,164 work injuries were reported in Cape Girardeau County in 2017 alone. Fortunately, most Missouri workers are entitled to workers’ compensation benefits if they are hurt on the job. The extent of these benefits depends on the type and severity of the injury and how fully the worker is able to recover. At Nahon, Saharovich & Trotz, our Cape Girardeau workers’ compensation lawyers are dedicated to helping injured workers get the benefits they deserve. Our firm has more than 30 years of experience representing personal injury and workers’ compensation claimants, and we have recovered more than $1.5 billion in recovery for our clients during that time.Obtaining Workers’ Compensation Benefits After Getting Hurt on at Work
Special rules and regulations usually come into play when someone getting hurt at work. Missouri, like other states, has a workers’ compensation system in place to allow injured workers to get the medical treatment they need after sustaining on-the-job injuries, and a workers’ compensation claim is usually the exclusive remedy available to them. In Missouri, an employer generally must carry workers’ compensation insurance if it employs at least five people. However, most construction industry employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance even if they have only one employee. Depending on the facts, you may be able to assert a third party claim for negligence if someone other than your employer caused or contributed to your harm. To fully protect your rights, it is critical to conduct a thorough investigation into what happened.
After suffering a workplace injury, a worker must notify his employer or supervisor immediately. If the worker does not report the injury within 30 days, then he or she may not be entitled to receive any benefits under the law. If the employee properly reports the claim and it is deemed compensable, the employee will receive medical care paid by the employer. On behalf of injured Cape Girardeau residents, our workers’ compensation lawyers can ensure that the claim was properly documented and that those injured receive the medical and disability benefits they need to get better and return to work.
Depending on the type of injury, recovery time, and permanency of the injury, the employee may also receive temporary total disability benefits and permanent partial or permanent total disability benefits in addition to medical benefits. Under Missouri law, you must miss at least three days of work due to your work injury before you are entitled to receive any temporary total disability benefits. If your work injury permanently affects your ability to work, you may be entitled to permanent partial or total disability based upon the nature and extent of your disability. Additional benefits could be available if the employee was exposed to toxic substances.
Suppose you trip and fall at work and sustain a broken leg. Your employer carries workers’ compensation coverage, and you properly report your injury to your supervisor that same day. You require surgery and are off work for two months. In this case, you would be entitled to medical benefits covering any initial emergency treatment, surgery, rehabilitation or physical therapy, prescriptions, medical devices such as crutches or a wheelchair, and any other forms of treatment recommended by your authorized treating physician. Since you were off work for more than three days, you would also be entitled to temporary total disability benefits covering your wage loss. If your physician opines that you suffer permanent disability as a result of your injury, then you would also be able to seek compensation in the form of permanent disability benefits. To learn what you could be entitled to recover under Missouri workers’ compensation laws, contact our law firm today.Consult with a Knowledgeable Workers’ Compensation Attorney in Cape Girardeau
After getting hurt at work, many are hesitant to file a workers’ compensation claim due to a fear of losing their job. The Cape Girardeau workers’ compensation attorneys of Nahon, Saharovich & Trotz will help to ensure that your legal rights are protected and that you are able to request and receive all the benefits the workers’ compensation law affords you. Our firm has an office in Cape Girardeau to serve injured Missouri employees, and we have more than 30 attorneys and 100 support staff members available to assist you when you call. Call us toll-free today at 800-529-4004, or you may use our online form to set up a free consultation with a personal injury lawyer near you. For a Cape Girardeau attorney to begin fighting for you immediately, NST is the way to go.